Latest News

NZ Track & Field Champs Day 1 Report

Sprint domination for Waikato-Bay of Plenty athletes

Day one of the NZ Track & Field Championships produced 18 medals for Waikato-Bay of Plenty athletes. On the first day of action in Wellington seven New Zealand titles were gained, demonstrating the quality of the centre's athletes. Of particular note were clean sweeps of the Senior Men's and U20 women's 100m sprints. In the Mens event, Joseph Millar (10.49), Kodi Harman (10.54) and Cameron French (10.72) took the first three places, leaving five Auckland sprinters in their wake. The Women's under 20 event was won in 11.93 seconds by Abby Goldie. Molly Florence (12.04) and Bianca Kruger (12.55) filled the other podium positions.

Other first day National Champions were Camille Buscomb in the Senior Women's 5000m (16.32.68), Matthew Holcroft in the Senior Men's 3000m Walk (12.54.37), Amy Robinson in the under 20 Women's Long Jump (5.69m), Aodhan Hamilton in the PARA AMB Discus (21.35m) and David Smith in the PARA AMB 400m (60.24). Smith was also second in his 100m event (12.86).

The other Waikato-Bay of Plenty medals were a silver for Sunil Fernandez-Ritchie (PARA AMB 400m) in 61.38 seconds, a silver and bronze for Jacob Phillips in his Javelin (25.45m and Discus (25.23m) PARA AMB events and bronzes for Mariah Ririnui in the Senior Women's 100m (12.02), Tom Smith in the Under 20 Men's 100m (11.01) and Anneke Grogan in the Under 20 Women's 5000m (18.00.67). 

For full day one results see here

The action continues on Saturday and Sunday, with strong title contenders for Waikato-Bay of Plenty in many events.  


Categories: All NewsNumber of views: 2365



Copyright 2019 by Athletics Waikato