Latest News

Day 2 Action from NZ Track and Field Champs

Further New Zealand titles for Waikato-Bay of Plenty athletes

Day 2 of action from Wellington was almost as successful as day one for Centre athletes, with seventeen medals won. Headline performer was Olympian Stuart Farquar with his 14th National title, taking the Javelin gold with 78.16m. Also impressive was Michael Cochrane who hurdled to victory in the 110m event in a time of 14.04. After two recent narrow misses, he will be focussed on achieving the Commonwealth Games qualifying time of 49.70 tomorrow in his favoured 400m hurdle event. 

Other victories were taken by Tom Smith in the under 20 400m with a quick 47.96 clocking, Anneke Grogan in the Women under 20 3000m steeplechase (11.10.83), Sunil Fernandez-Ritchie in the PARA AMB 1500m (4.39.47) and the Women Under 20 4 x 100m. The sprint squad of Molly Florence, Amy Robinson, Bianca Kruger and Abbie Goldie were overwhelming favourites and duly dominated the opposition, winning by more than two and a half seconds in 47.73. Other Waikato-Bay of Plenty relay medalists were the Senior Women's 4 x 100 m squad (3rd in 48.97) and the under 20 Mens 4 x 100 squad (2nd in 43.55). The Senior Men's "B" squad took 2nd place in the 4 x 100m (44.06) after the highly fancied "A" team failed to finish.

Other medals were taken by second placed Christopher Goodwin (U18 M HJ, 1.87m), David Smith (PARA AMB LJ, 4.58m), Talia Horgan (U20 W 400, 57.61), Ariana Lord (U18 W 800, 2.14.62) and Tarryn Davey (U20 W 800, 2.11.50). Third places were gained by Emma Walker (U18W 100m Hurdles, 14.27), Mikaela Jefferson (U20W 100m Hurdles, 15.88) and Matthew Connolly (U20 M 400, 49.22). 

Full Day 2 track results here

Full Day 2 field results here



Categories: All NewsNumber of views: 2293



Copyright 2019 by Athletics Waikato